Peace Comes First

Your guide to creating inner peace through yoga therapy, practical spirituality and the gluten-free lifestyle.

Keep The Faith

Leave a comment

I understand what it’s like to lack self-discipline at times and beat yourself up because you haven’t exercised in days, weeks or months because you’ve been hurting, tired. Or stressed. Feeling defeated. I know what it feels like to be strong and athletic and then lose that strength and have to rebuild again. I know what it’s like to want to cry when everyone at the family dinner is boasting about how good everything tastes but you can’t have a nibble without going into Anaphylaxis. I get what it’s like to wish you didn’t feel so different.

I understand what it’s like to feel your faith is waning. I know what it’s like to grieve deeply, to feel haunted by doubt and regret. I know what it feels like to worry about the future, judge yourself and strive for unattainable perfection. I know what it’s like to feel hopeless, helpless and want to forgive but too tied to anger to cut the cord completely. I know when I’ve been in this mindset, it’s draining with a view of a dead end.

I also know what it’s like to feel oneness, to see God in everyone, to understand my life’s purpose and trust that everything happens for a reason – even if I don’t always understand why. I know what it’s like to experience an unshakable faith rooted in my love for God, above all. I know faith needs to be nurtured regularly, like a plant needs to be watered or else it can wilt. When I’m in this mindset of solid, unbreakable faith, I feel limitless potentials. I feel grateful. I feel peace.

Consider this: it’s okay if you haven’t exercised in days, weeks or months. It’s okay if you ate something your body doesn’t like and now you’re regretting it. It’s okay if you wish you had said or did something differently, or handled your emotions with more care. Forgive yourself. Keep the faith. Today is a new day. Seize it.

Here’s your motivating thought for the day from Thomas Edison, known for his many failures on his path to success: “Our greatest weakness lies in giving up. The most certain way to succeed is always to try just one more time.”

Leave a Reply

